than any other province that according to the results of the then last decennial census did not have a larger population; but for the purposes of any subsequent readjustment of representation under this section any increase in the number of members of the House of Commons resulting from the application of this rule shall not be included in the divisor mentioned in rules one to four of this subsection.

"6. Such readjustment shall not take effect until the termination of the then existing Parliament.

"(2) The Yukon Territory as constituted by chapter forty-one of the Statutes of Canada, 1901, shall be entitled to one member, and such other part of Canada not comprised within a province as may from time to time be defined by the Parliament of Canada shall be entitled to one member." (RSC 1952, c. 304.)

The principal effect of these latest rules is that the representation of any province shall not be reduced by more than 15 p.c. at any one readjustment, subject however to the qualification that the rule shall not work out in such manner that the representation of a province with a smaller population shall be greater than any province with a larger population.

Subsequently, Parliament enacted a measure, "An Act to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons, 1952", effective in the General Election of 1953, which provided that representation in the House of Commons shall be on the following basis:—

"Sect. 2.—Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members." (RSC 1952, c. 334.)

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 23 General Elections since Confederation is given in Table 10.

10.—Representation in the House of Commons, as at Federal General Elections 1867-1958

Province or Territory	1867	1872	1874 1878	1882	1887 1891	1896 1900	1904	1908 1911	1917 1921	1925 1926 1930	1935 1940 1945	1949	1953 1957 1958
Ontario Quebec Nova Scotia New Brunswick Manitoba British Columbia Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan Alberta Yukon Mackenzie River, N.W.T. Newfoundland	82 65 19 15 	888 655 211 116 4 6	88 655 21 16 4 6 6 	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 4	92 65 20 14 7 6 5 4	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10{ 1	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10 7	82 65 16 11 15 13 4 16 12 1	82 65 14 11 17 14 4 21 16	82 65 12 10 17 16 4 21 17	83 73 13 10 16 18 4 20 17 1	85 75 12 10 14 22 4 17 17
Totals	181	200	206	211	215	213	214	221	235	245	245	262	265

Under their parliamentary system of representation, based on a "constitution similar in principle to that of the United Kingdom", the people of Canada elect representatives having various political party affiliations as shown in Table 11. In a general election, the Canadian electorate not only determines what political party leader shall be called on to form the Government of the day, but it also decides which of the parties is to become the Official Opposition. Her Majesty's Loyal Opposition occupies an essential place in constitutions based on the British parliamentary system, in that its function is to oppose or criticize in debate the Government in power—an essential to good government at all times. The Official Opposition is founded, like such institutions as the Cabinet and the Prime Ministership, on unwritten custom that has become firmly established. Although the position of Leader of the Opposition is not recognized in the British North America Act, it received statutory acknowledgment in the Canadian Parliament in 1905 when the